My recommended reading on Lagos and Nigeria

Recently, my friend Nebila posted a link in which Ambassadors had recommended books for visitors of the country they were (are) serving. Although it was published in June 2017, its still an interesting read and gave me food for thought. I immediately wondered what I would recommend for someone visiting Lagos, and in my case, seeking to relocate here for work or otherwise. These are a few books I would have as a start.

Disclaimer: This is a list from books I have read and shared over the last 4 years living here. It is not exhaustive – I simply picked a few titles that have stayed with me over time and which I go to frequently in case I need to clarify something.

  1. Two books appear as my favourite. The late journalist Kaye Whitman’s Lagos:City of the Imagination and Okechukwu Ofili’s How Intelligence Kills. They are both non-fiction titles but in my view the two best texts on understanding Lagos and its geography, people as well as its culture, nuances and what-nots. Ofili’s take on parental expectations, NYSC corpers (to give perspectives to those jungle green uniforms) religion and respect littered with specs of humour is a great read.

All time Greats

2. Chinua Achebe’s – Things Fall Apart

On the Nigerian Civil War:

3. Chinua Achebe –  There was a Country: A personal History of Biafra

4. Chimamanda Adichie – Half of  a Yellow Sun

5. Ken Saro-Wiwa – On a Darkling Plain , An account of the Nigerian Civil War

On 419 and scammers:

6. Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani – I do not come to you by Chance

6644280

On family life, polygamy

7. Lola Shoneyin – The Secret Life of Baba Segi’s Wives

8. Ayobami Adebayo – Stay with me

On History

9. Ed Keazor –  The Lagos – Hamburg Line : A brief history of German companies in Nigeria (Confession – haven’t read this yet but its on my Hitlist and I will get to it soon)

10. Olasupo Shasore – On a Platter of Gold

On art, gods and fetishes

11. Okey Ndibe – Foreign Gods Inc

On modern day happenings

Helon Habila – The Chibok Girls

Other recommendations given by friends:

Chibundu Onuzo – Welcome to Lagos (on my reading list)

Elnathan John – Born on a Tuesday

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Purple Hibiscus

Chuma Nwokolo – How to spell Naija

I would love to hear your views on your favourite reads. I am also looking for good titles on Religion and spirituality in Nigeria. Already have one or two but would love a peek into the Pentecostal movement so please shout out your recommendations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Anne Mucheke

I'm curious about life. A wife, mother to three lovely girls and currently living in Lagos. I'm not that great with words but I love to share a laugh. People fascinate me wherever I go and Lagos takes the cake; they're a boisterous lot. 5 years later, this blog is still my attempt to make my days count….and give an all inclusive response to friends and family who ask, 'So, how's Lagos really like?'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment